Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 12:38 PM   #1

happy b-day to me

happy b-day to me...it is my 38th ..i bought a 2000 triple black boxster.. mine is tip top no leaks...and quiet as a mouse when in idle...the check engine light came on once...a week after purchase..and scared the hell out of me...the next day it was gone and has not returned..the car drives perfect...i have my 60k tune up the first week of april 08...i have 59311 on the odometer...should i be worried???...im not a mechanic but i attribute the check engine light coming on breifly..to the fact that the car sat from oct07 at the dealership until 3-1-08 my bday and probably had some fouling in one of the plugs that needed to be cleared out..or the air flow sensor..let me know if that sounds crazy...but it runs like brand new...thanks for your insight.

collin

three1seventy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 12:52 PM   #2
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
Happy Birthday!
If nothing has gone wrong, except for a CEL coming and going it was probably a mass air flow sensor. They can cause that sort of CEL flash, and they normally need to be replaced around 60k. It is no big deal, and unless you notice a significant drop in your mpg, there is probably nothing wrong.
Enjoy your B-Day!
Old 03-25-2008, 01:07 PM   #3
EE3racing

Great birthday gift, that is exactly how I bought mine. Tomorrow I have an interview, if it goes right I will be able to keep it and my house....
Old 03-25-2008, 05:56 PM   #4

thanks for the b-day greetings