Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2008, 11:40 PM   #1

Desnorkeling for 2004 and beyond?

Hi everyone,

I am new to the board as you can see. I am new to Boxster ownership as well. Your site has been informative, helpful and fun to read.

I have a few questions... I just took ownership of a 2004 Boxster S Silver Anniversary edition. I been reading your various mods on the forum. I just spent 30 mins trying to desnorkle my Boxster (very simple initial step). I was able to remove the grill and the tabs without a problem. I then encountered a flush fitting rubber boot and a mesh netting that I could not remove. The rubber boot had 3 tabs that were easily pulled out but it seemed to be cemented to the opening of the intake.

I removed the wire mesh netting but could not see a snorkle. I knew that the snorkle should be a black plastic piece with a lip or a cup on the bottom.

Two possibilities: 1. previous owner already desnorkled. (unlikely, he prided himself in keeping things stock.... babied his porsche, no autocrossing... etc) 2. Boxsters 2004 and beyond does not have the snorkle? or a different shaped snorkle?

Your experience will be much appreciated. thanks

Hyung

Old 02-12-2008, 12:59 AM   #2

Ok I'm a newbie here so I am going to put on my flame suit here and open my mouth. I can see that desnorkling the Boxster is a popular mod here. I would never do mine. You are not getting anymore air into the engine, and the air you are getting is now hot, being brought in from the engine bay. These cars are already suffering from not tnough octain, why would anybody, want to compound that with hot air? Cold air=denser air=more hp. If anybody has acces to a dyno, you will see. All this mod does is make a new sound, and increase the use of the knock sensors.
Sorry but I just had to say something.
Flame away.
Go Army