Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2007, 07:15 PM   #1

Help - Oil leak on top of engine - newbie

Hi, I'm a newbie on this board so if I'm posting in the wrong area, I'm sorry. I have a 2001 Boxster S with 8,000 miles and today when I was replacing the air filter with a K&N filter I noticed a very small leak on the top of the engine. I'm attaching a picture of it. I would appreciate any help!

Thanks,
-Steve

chitowndad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 04:12 PM   #2

Sorry hard to tell from your pics but I think it's from the oil separator.... can you resize the photos?
wvicary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 04:43 PM   #3

Send a message via MSN to CJ_Boxster
I can tell where that picture of the engine is, That oil is right under the AOS oil lines and under the Engine Oil filler Flex Tube.

Looks like i see some oil stuck on the Engine Oil filler tube... Could either be that OR the AOS is leaking oil on top of the Engine Oil filler tube, then it drips down to the engine crevas which means your AOS (Air Oil Separator) is bad. Tell me, Has the car ever smoked for about 20 seconds once or twice during start up since your ownership... if so... AOS is ready to be replaced.

Carlos J Cazares

FastForward Performance
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...er/newsig1.jpg
CJ_Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 04:45 PM   #4

More details

I have a better picture but it's 600K, which is too large to upload. Can I email it to you? The leak is on the top of the engine near where the engine and the transmission connect so my first thought was that its the rear main seal; however, I have no leakage on the bottom, so I'm confused. It's on the right hand side of the engine block near the rear of the engine block.

Can you describe how to identify a RMS leak? That might help...

Thanks,