View Single Post
Old 12-18-2017, 09:38 AM   #5
78F350
Motorist & Coffee Drinker

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erlinrys View Post
I'd appreciate as much feedback from experts in the process and the steps required...
I'm far from an expert, so I can't offer much help, but your post made me curious. Why are you doing this particular swap?
Quote:
The shop will begin the engine swap process Tuesday.
I'm sorry... did you say Tuesday? as in this week, tomorrow? ..and you are asking these sorts of basic questions now? ...I mean, "NOW?"
Quote:
I can drop in the 2.7 motor into the 98 Boxster and to utilize the 2.7 motor mount(s).
Yes, physically they fit and mount the same.
Quote:
Wiring Harness (Can I utilize my 2.5 engine harness in the 2.7 motor?)
Here's another issue for you to consider: The Tiptronic transmission harness is bundled into the engine harness. If you don't use the 2.5's harness, you will need to tear it apart and rebuild it or find a 2.7L Tiptronic harness.
Quote:
Throttle Body Intake Manifold (swap the 2.5 to 2.7 engine? ... just as simple as running a 12v wire and another wire to Pin 59 into DME ... and smooth operating Boxster, I can probably consider it.
Know what you are going to do before the shop tries to put the replacement engine in. (Are they experienced and do they have any suggestions about these issues?)
Throttle body: 1998 is actuated by a cable and gives position (load demand) info to the DME.
With the 2001, the gas pedal has a position sensor that gives load demand to the DME, which activates a servo on the throttle body, then a position sensor on the throttle sends feedback to the DME.
My guess is that the 5.2.2 DME will only work with the cable throttle and the 7.2 DME will only work with the eGas throttle. Programming and wiring will not fix that.
Either DME and throttle set-up will need custom programming to function well.