View Single Post
Old 08-12-2015, 04:56 PM   #10
RedTele58

I'm probably one of the worst offenders on the forum when it comes to these cars...

I've been driving and slowly gathering Porsche cars for the last 30+ years. My first was a '67 911 in college during the early '80s. Then a '78 924, a '87 944S, a '70 914 and a '90 944S2 cabriolet. All but the '90 944S2 cab are gone - it hides in my garage w/ 66k 2 owner miles. Along the way I gathered several $1,000 "project" cars - 3 1984 928S and a '71 914 - I still have them. 2 of the 3 928's will run and (sorta) drive, and the 914 will start with a shot of ether. 2 of the 928s and the 914 are tucked away for future restoration. One of the 928s I'm working a slow/steady restoration on.

Then my Boxster addiction hit, and hit pretty hard. I have 7. 4 1999s, a 2000 base, a 2001S and a 2002S. All are clean above average to excellent condition cars. Most have unique option packages (aero kits, different sport packages, unique colors, or are just a bad ass looking little car). I'm fortunate I have a big shop I rent for cheap to store everything and I'm able to do a fair amount of maintenance on them, but even then, it's an expensive hobby. When we talk about ~$1,500/yr for maintenance, that's a pretty realistic number.

I also have a '99 aerokit 996 in the mix and am looking for the right early Boxster to turn into a Spec racer.

Before anyone thinks that I can give mr.jonathanlada a run for his daddies money, if you add the cost of 7 early Boxsters and a 996, you'd come up with just enough money to buy a gently used 991 and have enough left over to go to the Cheesecake factory for dinner. And a gently used 991 and dinner at the Cheesecake Factory doesn't give you Baller Status...