View Single Post
Old 09-22-2014, 01:58 PM   #17
Cornstar

I must confess, I am an air-cooled guy. I've been a 993 owner for the past ten years. I believe snobbery directed to the boxster can be attributed to a few different reasons. My snobbery at the boxster was multilevel in nature. I first test drove a boxster when I was about 19 or 20. At this time, I was driving an E36 M3, never been to the track, and honestly was a marginal driver at best, but like any hot headed young male, I thought I was a great driver.
During the test drive, I did notice that the boxster handled well, but promptly dismissed it due to the lack of power. At my age and car experience (inexperience), all I could appreciate was the most basic of car specs; horsepower. My taste were not discerning enough to appreciate a car like the boxster. For the next 13 years, I looked down at the boxster. I picked up a 993 a few years later, slowly learning to drive such a rear biased car but again never having taken it to the track. Many years later, I've come to realize that my driving skills have a long way to go and that power really isn't everything. In fact, far from it. However, it wasn't until 21 days ago that I finally realized how true that really is.
Sept 1, 2014, I take my 993 to the track (laguna seca) for the first time, after 10 years of ownership and 80K+ miles. I am instantly humbled. Everything that I thought I knew about cars, what makes a great sports car, what makes a great sports car manufacturer, is finally put to practical use and as a result, is redefined. I suddenly have so much more respect for the capabilities of my now 18 year old car. I am in complete awe of its stellar, completely problem free track day performance. Most importantly, for the first time in my life, I realize that I am not even close to utilizing the full 285HP my car has. A HP figure that is just moderate by today's standards.