Thread: WTB: Failed AOS
View Single Post
Old 04-24-2011, 05:16 PM   #11
autodoctor911

AOS failure mode

I have been working on european cars for 20 years, and starting in the mid to late 90's all the euro manufacturers started using a crankcase pressure regulator similiar to the one in our m96/m97 engines' AOS. I have replaced many of them, and I broke apart many of them, at first to see what was going on inside, but I still do to verify that I have isolated the problem in most cases. there is a rubber diaphragm with a spring against it that together regulate the amount of vacuum applied to the crankcase. when sufficient vacuum is achieved the diaphragm pushes against the spring, restricting the flow of air from the crankcase to the intake. when it fails, the diaphragm usually looses it's flexibility and either cracks around the outside diameter where it has the most flex while operating, or it is just no longer flexible enough to close off the vacuum. I do not know of a way to do this that will prevent failure, other than a completely different type of crankcase ventilation. I believe that porsche has a motorsport version, but I don't think it is intended to last longer, just more effectively maintain oil in crankcase. do not consider eliminating it and running with the crankcase vented to the atmosphere. it's not that I am concerned about the environmental impact, you will loose horsepower and cause oil leaks from the engine seals. one option for a track car is to use an electric air pump to evacuate the crankcase, but I doubt the electric pump would last as long as the diaphragms do. A belt driven pump(like most cars had pumping air into the exhaust for smog regulations in the 70's and 80's) would probably last a long time, as well as increasing power and relieving pressure on seals, but it would be a complicated set up to install.