View Single Post
Old 09-03-2010, 07:37 PM   #9
Frodo

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdlong329
Well, just to put things in perspectve, I have been working with MB & Corvette since 1977. For years, many shops will use proper (OEM) parts ... while many shops do what they can to cut costs, to try to turn a profit. Feel free to use what you want to use. However, Mercedes-Benz, Chevrolet, BMW, and yes, even Porsche DESIGN their cars with specific jacking equipment in mind. NOBODY, not even me, is telling you what you are supposed to use. That being said, it's great that there are several people confirming what I have said about the rubber degrading. So, while you may have never seen a puck or piece of rubber fail, IT DOES HAPPEN!

All that being said, while I am new to THIS forum, I would normally expect normal decorum. Most forums request that nobody hijacks a thread, and also mandate a good will policy or not interfering. As your mother used to say, if you don;t have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all. Uhh...maybe you should read more threads and posts on this forum. We, its members, approve of opposing views, if they are supported. We like making informed decisions and don't consider materials presented in opposition to an initial viewpoint as constituting a 'hijack' if they intelligently address the subject at hand.

Nobody is saying you can't use a hockey puck. Nor is anyone saying you must use one. At the same time, you should not be trying to tell anyone what they can, and cannot use. Again, I really don't think that happened here. You may prefer Mobil 1, someone else may prefer Castrol, but that does not mean only one person is correct. For anyone to tell another individual they cannot use Castrol is deplorable ... as if the only thing that matters is your own personal opinion. Again, you're confused...JFP likes Castrol...he wouldn't dream of telling someone they cannot use it.