View Single Post
Old 09-02-2010, 01:41 PM   #9
Lil bastard

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsharky
Thanks for the detailed reply. I just take small issue with your statement about "using the car as you describe...."

I am an engineer (though not an EE) so I totally understand the electrical circuitry of the car. My point was that I operated the car for the first three years of its life exactly as was intended by the manufacturer (other than not driving it everyday, which I'll grant you could be significant). When I realized that the battery was dead, I did not attempt to jump it, but rather bought a new battery. When that battery discharged, again I did not jump it, but hooked it up to a charger, in order to save the wear and tear on the alternator. So other than using a battery tender since the car was new, or driving it a lot more frequently, there was really nothing better that I could have done, right?
Well, that's right. I'm not slamming you at all, but have to say that these habits (infrequent driving, no maintainer) are less than ideal. Just explaining how your habits could contribute to the issue.

Again though, you are describing a battery which is drained because it would not start the car and discounting the cumulative effect (3+ yrs. in your case) of operating a battery which was at arbitrarily say, 60-70% (or whatever) a good portion of the time.

Both the battery and the alternator, each separately and together, suffer from this for the reasons I described. Realize that batteries are fairly precise - a healthy cell in a 6 cell automotive wet cell battery will produce between 2.1 and 2.2 VDC. This means a healthy battery will output between 12.6-13.2 VDC on a DMM (ign. off, key out) - this battery is 100% charged. If you measure only 12.45 VDC, the battery is only 75% charged. At 12.06 VDC, the battery is only 25% charged, yet most people think that this battery is OK because it's putting out 12 volts.