View Single Post
Old 04-09-2008, 09:40 AM   #10
Lil bastard

I'm an MSF Instructor. I teach both the Basic Rider Skills and the Advanced Skills Courses at a local community college. IMHO, the MSF Basic Rider Skills course is an absolute MUST for anyone using any two-wheeled vehicles.

We're seeing an increasing number of scooter riders in the BRS courses. There are many good ones out there, and some not so good ones, especially from the PRC and Viet Nam.

The one thing I've heard about the Hondas si that they are more prone to be stolen than some others. IIRC, they lack any kind of Interlock or Anti-theft devices, making them targets. Other than that, I believe they're good scoots, though if it were me, I'd look at some of the modern vespas or piaggios. Some of these, like the BV500 from piaggio are highway/freeway capable, which I think makes it more versatile.

The MSF also offers a Scooter Course, but this is aimed primarily for Moped Riders - <50cc. This Course does not substitute for the State Road test as the BRS Course does.

In addition to instructors, we're also State Deputy Registrars and use the last hour of the BRS Course to conduct a State sanctioned Road Test for each student.

In my state, registering for the Road Test at a state licensing facility can wait list you for almost 9 mos., while the waiting list for the BRS Course is usually 1 mo. or less, so this makes taking the MSF course more attractive. Also, minors under 18 must take the BRS Course in order to earn their endorsement.

After a student passes their test during the course, we sign and stamp their state permit form certifying that they have met the state testing requirements, after which the student need only visit a state license clerk and pay the $11 state fee to get their license or endorsement, avoiding the State Road Test altogether.