Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2020, 10:43 AM   #1

My First Porsche

I am new to Porsche ... never driven or took a joy ride in one ... but I love projects. Attached is a photo of my new project. 1997 Porsche Boxster. I did not buy it to make money on fixer upper, I just have a yen for fixing vehicles and since I have never been down the Porsche lane ... I am going to have fun. It looks bad, but is in fairly "good" shape overall. It has been sitting in an offsite lot for the last 2 and 1/2 years and was covered in dust. I will be posting questions as I bring her back to life so you might be hearing from me for the next 6 months.

freserf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2020, 08:52 PM   #2

Garage
That certainly looks like a project! Does it run and drive?
Old 12-09-2020, 07:28 AM   #3

Well ... it made it to my garage from the street. While I am busy completing normal maintenance items, I have been researching common issues for this model year. The previous owner said something about a possible Variocam solenoid and it has misfires on bank 1. Since I did not want to drive it out on the road yet, I was learning about the flat six and how it was designed. Definitely different from the standard V6. As you can see parts were robbed for other vehicles so I made a list of everything that needed to be replaced and another for things I would like to shine up a little. Learned very quick that parts can be overpriced a little. Just finished a 2009 S550 project and even though Mercedes can be pricey ... Porsche has them beat.
Old 12-09-2020, 04:53 PM   #4
Who's askin'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by freserf View Post