Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > DIY Project Guides

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2015, 06:04 PM   #1

DIY - HAES 4 Channel Amp Gain Boost Mod

I have read a lot of posts asking what can be done to improve the power output from the stock HAES 4 channel amplifiers. I have a touch screen Pioneer head unit with a 6 speaker setup in my 2001 Boxster. The head unit drives the rear speakers directly and the pre-amp outputs are wired directly to the stock amp in the front trunk which drive the dash and door speakers. Before modification, the amp output power was very low and the dash and door speakers did not contribute much to the overall sound volume in the car. It was pretty terrible.

I really didn't like the idea of going to an aftermarket amp so I decided to reverse engineer the stock amp to see what could be done. (I'm a EE by trade so these kinds of things are second nature to me) It turns out that the stock amp has a pre-amp input stage that is set up as 2 differential to single-ended converters. Both FL and RL channels are combined into a single Left channel and the same goes for the Right channel. Then they get split back up again before they go the power amp stage. I've sketched out a rough schematic of what's going on with the pre-amp in figure 1. I didn't bother to trace out the schematic completely because I just wanted to know enough to see where I could adjust the gain.