Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2006, 07:16 AM   #1

Miscellaneous questions

1) I ordered rear speakers from PNP for my 2000 Boxster; I have 2 old amps (Sony xm-21+xm-41) from an old stereo. They both have some kind of 10 pin round connector. Is it worth it to try to use one of these, and how would I hook up?
2) Should I fill the speaker cavity with loose pillow filling, something else, or keep empty?
3) Should I wire speaker harness through right side of tunnel i/o the door sill (seems easier and no need to disconnect battery), and does anyone have instructions for doing so?
4) I was trying to pick up switched 12 volts and ground from the fuse box for a radar detector and was trying to find an easy way of doing this. As you can tell, I'm not very good at this stuff.
Thanks in advance for the help.

milist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 08:24 AM   #2

#4 - What year is your car? There should be a phone connector behind the center console with ground, +12V and IGN connections. You can buy a connector from Becker for it but it really is pointless, it's easier to just tap in to the wires or cut off the existing connector.

#3 - I'd go down behind the carpet over the engine cover (behind the seats) and tuck it under the tunnel to get to the front.

Where around Boston are you? I'm about 30 miles north on the NH line.

Chris.
Old 11-26-2006, 09:36 AM   #3

#3 Check out these instructions: http://www.pelicanparts.com//techarticles/box_rear_speakers/box_rear_speakers.htm

I wired my Harvey kit this way and was pleased with the result. Everything is out of the way.
Painted Bumperettes, 2004 (OEM) Top, Homelink integrated in dash with Targa switch, 997 Shifter, Carrera Gauge Cluster with silver gauge faces, heated 12-way driver & 8-way passenger seats, Litronics, silver console