986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   stripped oil drain treads !!!help (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76295)

jaimster 09-27-2019 04:54 PM

stripped oil drain treads !!!help

hey guys Im a newbie here,
I just purchased a 2001 boxster I was doing the oil change it felt as the plug was overtighten wen I was removing it , able to remove it however now not able to tighten down the plug
it seem loose . even tried a magnetic plug form LN engineering still loose not able to tighten down keeps leaking oil any ideas greatly appreciate it ?

JimmyBad 09-27-2019 05:10 PM

Buy a new oil pan and swap it. Best advice I can give you.

Starter986 09-27-2019 05:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jaimster (Post 603993)
I just purchased a 2001 boxster I was doing the oil change it felt as the plug was overtighten wen I was removing it , able to remove it however now not able to tighten down the plug
it seem loose . even tried a magnetic plug form LN engineering still loose not able to tighten down keeps leaking oil any ideas greatly appreciate it ?

Go to an auto parts store... explain the problem... they'll have a product to fix that error. l Bet you under $15.

If that doesn't work... different pan.

jaimster 09-27-2019 05:41 PM

thanks starter086 didn't think of that ! ill call an autoparts store.

blue62 09-27-2019 06:00 PM

try some Teflon plumbers tape on the drain plug see if that works.
If that doesn't work JB weld the drain hole and re tap it.

particlewave 09-27-2019 06:31 PM

It’s a lot easier and safer to just replace the sump plate, guys.

Think about it: would you want a repair to fail on the road, dropping your oil plug?
By the time you realize it, the engine is toast. ;)