Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2019, 06:41 AM   #1

left lights on, killed batt. Charge or replace?

Newb mistake, left head lights on in garage, batt fully dead.

Do I try to resurrect by charging (need to buy charger), or replace
battery and move on? I've had success charging other vehicles in the past,
but I have zero mechanic type knowledge.

If replace, what is a good one for 2002 Boxster?

Old 08-17-2019, 07:02 AM   #2

Location: Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
I did that to mine just bought a ctek battery maintainer and charged it up again. How old is your battery?
Fintro11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 07:07 AM   #3
1998 Boxster Silver/Red

I don't know about the ctek or other trickle charger, but here is my story...

I've had batteries completely drain on more than one occasion. So drained that when I connected my battery charger... it refused to charge because the battery was spent. So...

I would remove the battery... hook up another battery.. start the car... remove that battery (with the car running)... hook up the dead battery... and let it "charge" for about 15 minutes. I'd then shut off the car... hook up the battery charger... and the battery would register just enough juice to allow the charger to do the job. Has worked every single time I've encountered that problem.

You don't have a charger... so after you reinstall your dead battery... go for a long drive. That'll get you back to normal.

Good luck.
Old 08-17-2019, 07:10 AM   #4
NewUserName

If your battery is more than 3 years old, it probably won't live thru another mid-west winter.
If you charge it slowly, it shouldn't have ruined the battery, Charge it too fast (as in jumping) and you could warp the plates and ruin the battery.
DoninDel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 07:17 AM   #5

Quote: