Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2019, 12:42 PM   #1
MarkT

Garage
Too much oil or not?

Ok I will admit I am a very newbie!
I changed the oil/filter in my 05 Boxster S following the capacity levels in the manual.
It says 2.05 Gal or 7.75 Liters.
I put in 2 gal and my dash meter is showing completely full.
Do I need to try to drain some out or am I ok?

Thanks
:confused

Markt213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 12:46 PM   #2

I think the accepted oil level is one bar below full feeling that a full fill may overwhelm the air oil separator. However, I've been running at completely full for some time with no issue.
Keith Newby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 01:00 PM   #3

KN is correct, 1 bar below the top mark is the correct measurement. The reason you don't want to go to the top bar is the inaccuracy of the bar graph. Below 50% of a bar will show as the lower bar and 50%+ will round up to the next bar. So if your graph shows at the top bar, you may be up to 49% of a bar overfilled and the graph will say just full.

An easy way to drop the level is to remove the oil filter canister and dump the oil from it. That should drop you a bar on the graph.

2008 Boxster S Limited Edition #005
2008 Cayman S Sport - Signal Green
1989 928 S4 5 spd - black
1987 928 S4 - Granite Green Metallic (Felsengrun)
husker boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 01:21 PM   #4
MarkT

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by husker boxster View Post
KN is correct, 1 bar below the top mark is the correct measurement. The reason you don't want to go to the top bar is the inaccuracy of the bar graph. Below 50% of a bar will show as the lower bar and 50%+ will round up to the next bar. So if your graph shows at the top bar, you may be up to 49% of a bar overfilled and the graph will say just full.