Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2018, 08:23 AM   #1

Best available diagnostic system for our cars?

I'm new to Porsche, so I'm still on a steep learning curve. I have owned multiple Mercedes Benz vehicles, and I am aware of the STAR program that MB dealers use for diagnosing the cars. There are many versions of the STAR computer based program, with the applicable mulitiplexer box, available on the net, eBay, etc so we can have our own STAR setups at home.

I know I have seen two different Porsche dealer diagnostic setups mentioned on the internet. Are either of them commonly available as a ready to go package to owners without costing an arm and a leg? The MB STAR setups on the net commonly sell for about $750 including the computer it runs on and the multipex box. What is the best, most comprehensive setup available to us as owners, and where do we go to get one?

I found the Durametric setup, is that about as good as it gets? Have any of you used the iCarSoft for Porsche (assuming they have one)? I have one of them for M-B, and it's ok, not great.

Doug427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 10:44 AM   #2

From a price point durametric is best for a hobbyiest. Also keep in mind that there are different durametric versions with different functionality available.

Concerning the 986 there are different OEM Porsche diacgnostic tools and also clones available.

Porsche System Tester 2 (PST2); based on a Bosch KTS-500, but has Porsche specific software. Doesn't support can bus. So only interesting for very early Boxsters.

Porsche Integrated Workshop Infomation System (PIWIS); based on a Bosch KTS-650 but has Porsche specific software. Supports can bus.

Porsche Integrated Workshop Infomation System 2 (PIWIS2)

Porsche Integrated Workshop Infomation System 3 (PIWIS3), which is the latest version.