Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2017, 07:52 PM   #1

2003 Boxster travails

Newbie on this forum, but I have been on Pelican 911 forum for years....also have a 1973 2.7 MFI 911.

I recently bought a 2003 Boxster . I knew that car had some CEL issues, but it was a solid car with IMS replacement done and a fresh Tiptronic as well.

The car had been sitting for a year.

1. Battery was DOA so I replaced that.
2. started fine, but had a fuel leak ......cracked nipple on the vent valve on top of the fuel tank. New sender unit fixed that one...
3. Had a cell p0141. replaced 2 O2 sensors.
4. New air filter
5. New MAF
6 checked the vacuum lines on the engine. Check valve was not plugged into the inlet manifold
7. SAI solenoid line to SAI valve disconnected.

I studied a whole bunch about the Vacuum system and replaced a few of those questionable rubber connectors with good quality high temp 3mm silicon hose.

All check engine lights gone for now.....time for some driving cycles to reset the monitors so I can smog this thing.

Other things I tended to:

put 10 oz. of R134a in the A/C system and it went from cool to nice and cold.
Got the radio working by installed a 15 amp fuse in D8 slot.

replaced a top restraining cable that was broken
Hooked up the battery vent.

This site, Wayne's 101 BOXSTER TIPS and the Bentley manual have been very helpful, as have been Dave and Jeremy at TRE Motorsports.

The car is really nice. My wife is dying to get he hands on it.....I just want everything working.

Next project: Drive door window regulator R&R.

boxfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 05:39 PM   #2
1997 Tip, 2018 Macan

Garage
Welcome. Please post a pic of your car when you can.
rexcramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 07:43 PM   #3

Will post a photos when I get on my other computer