Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2017, 08:42 AM   #1

temperature gauge

don't know how i missed this before:

https://rennlist.com/forums/996-forum/827720-oil-temp-gauge-using-the-built-in-oil-temp-sensor.html

i'd looked into using the oem temp sensor to drive a gauge, but once it got beyond using a voltage divider circuit i gave up and went to a seperate vdo temp sender instead. as noted in the linked thread, this sender is not located in the best spot.

any chance fred can get a few of these arduino boxes fabbed up?

The Radium King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 09:31 AM   #2

Yeah I saw that thread too but electronics is a weak spot for me (I did buy an arduino learning kit and the programming is no problem but I'm still learning the other.

That is a very cool thread though!

I have a vdo sender in the left valve cover and did a test a while back with the laptop in the passenger seat with durametric and the vdo gauge read the same as the durametric oil temp up to around 205-210'ish which is all I could get up to on the street.

I captured it with a bunch of photos but I think I lost them in a phone crash...
steved0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:14 AM   #3

that's cool that the vdo sender in the head tracks temps accurately. perhaps arduino geewhizzery not required.
The Radium King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:40 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Radium King View Post
that's cool that the vdo sender in the head tracks temps accurately. perhaps arduino geewhizzery not required.
Yeah, I had read somewhere that oil flow wasn't good in that location and so it wasn't a good place for oil, so I did the tests.