Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2016, 08:26 PM   #1

Garage
High mileage 987s?

Hi all, in about a year or so I'll be in the market for a Porsche 987 Boxster. I currently drive a '98 Z3 roadster and I'm wanting to switch to something newer and the 987 seems perfect. The ones I'm looking at in my price range have anywhere from 75k to 100k on them. Is that considered high mileage on a Porsche? I've never owned a Porsche so I don't know what I should expect buying a Boxster in that mileage range (Especially maintenance costs since I am by no means a mechanic). It would also be my daily driver but I only drive about 10k miles a year. (Any Boxster daily drivers here?)
Since I am new to Porsche I'm learning all I can before I buy one.
Thanks for any help
Also, I'm sorry that I posted this in the 986 forum, I didn't really see a site like this for the 987.

Last edited by hmcclung; 08-25-2016 at 08:49 PM.
hmcclung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 03:45 AM   #2

No, that is not high mileage. My only suggestions would be a ppi and buy the best conditioned one for the money you have. Goes for all cars IMO. Oh, expensive to fix and or buy parts if needed. Probably want the list of what's been done too. Some things start to wear around 70k. Again like any car.
I'll stop rambling now.

Good luck.
DWBOX2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 06:40 AM   #3