Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2016, 02:54 AM   #1

Boxster or Boxster S?

Im sure this has been asked before, but does the S perform that much better than the base? I drove my first Porsche ever the other day, and it was a 2002 boxster S that had several small issues, but drove fantastic. Ive since found a very good price on a 2002 base model that looks like new and only has 55k miles on it. There arent any base models around here to drive, so im stuck wondering if ill miss the extra 37hp by getting the base model. Also, it hasnt had the ims bearing replaced, and if i buy it, i will have to fly out and drive it 2000+ miles back home. I was advised by the shop nearest to me, that i shouldnt drive it home unless i get the ims bearing replaced. Just looking for some advice, considering im a complete noob to Porsche.

Joe

Snipershot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 03:13 AM   #2

Garage
Though not exactly the same situation as yours, this thread may help: http://986forum.com/forums/general-discussions/52243-40k-budget-s-not-s.html

You probably should search the Forum on both your questions (S vs non S; IMSB).
Old 05-16-2016, 03:34 AM   #3

I would buy an S but would not be too hasty to buy the first or second you have seen or driven. There are lots out there.
johnsjmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 03:35 AM   #4