986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   1999 Porsche Boxster Info. (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61682)

surfaripals 05-19-2016 05:59 AM

1999 Porsche Boxster Info.

Hey, everybody!

I'm a rookie 1999 Porsche Boxster owner. I have a customized Wicked Widebody and I need your help. I'll begin with each issue and await responses from all of you professional car owners.

First, I wanted to address the nasty old radio. Anybody replaced theirs with an awesome sound system? If so, where did you put the subwoofer, etc. Looking for recommendations on that end.

Secondly, I wanted to address the dated looking CD tray. Has anyone replaced that with some cool looking gauges or any other option?

Thanks, and feel free to comment on either one or both.

Surf's Up!

-Kip
http://986forum.com/forums/uploads02...1463666203.jpg

rick3000 05-19-2016 06:36 AM

The search feature on this forum will turn up a lot of results that should help answer your questions.

A lot of people upgrade the sound system, however subwoofer locations tend to vary because it is depends on how much space you are willing to give up. Normally under or or behind the passenger seat, in the passenger footwell, or above the engine. The CD tray can be replaced with another shelf, or a custom gauge install. Which ever option you choose, you will have to custom paint to match. It looks like a previous owner had the dash painted guards red, it could also be a factory option. :cheers:

stelan 05-19-2016 06:55 AM

I moved the climate control down to the cd tray location and installed a tablet up top, many have done it, try searching there are some good diy's

imon_2nd 05-19-2016 07:55 AM

Hello, Kip, and welcome to the Forum.