Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2006, 01:03 PM   #1

Genuine Porsche Parts vs. After-Market...

Im new to this whole porsche thing having just purchased my 2001 boxster a few months ago. I would like to purchase an oil filter, cabin filter, and new engine air filter as part of getting the car ready for spring. I have priced the parts out at porsche but I have also looked on ebay where the prices appear very tempting for after-market stuff. It seems like "Mahle" brand parts keep popping up and some of the ads are claiming that they are OEM....just wondering who does make these filters for Porsche and is this aftermarket stuff worth getting. Additionally, if anyone could comment on aftermarket brake pads and rotors and whether or not this stuff is any good as well.

Thanks in advance for the info!

Jeff.

jeff740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 01:18 PM   #2
bmussatti

Jeff:

Go to these sources for your Porsche parts:

1) our sponsor www.986online.com

2) www.sunsetporsche.com

3) www.suncoastporsche.com

You will save big buck vs. the local dealerships!
Old 04-04-2006, 01:52 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff740
Im new to this whole porsche thing having just purchased my 2001 boxster a few months ago. I would like to purchase an oil filter, cabin filter, and new engine air filter as part of getting the car ready for spring. I have priced the parts out at porsche but I have also looked on ebay where the prices appear very tempting for after-market stuff. It seems like "Mahle" brand parts keep popping up and some of the ads are claiming that they are OEM....just wondering who does make these filters for Porsche and is this aftermarket stuff worth getting. Additionally, if anyone could comment on aftermarket brake pads and rotors and whether or not this stuff is any good as well.