986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   When to change oil? (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54033)

Bald Eagle 09-11-2014 10:56 AM

When to change oil?

I'm new to Boxster ownership. Bought a beautiful, very lightly used, and very well maintained 2000S with just 10,800 miles. Have all maintenance records. Previous owner changed oil every spring. I will be storing the car in late November when I will have put about 4000 miles on it since the spring oil change. Should I change the oil before putting it into storage or when I take it out in early April or does it make any difference?

Larry (The Bald Eagle)

thstone 09-11-2014 11:38 AM

Generally, the thinking is that an engine stored with clean oil is better than an engine stored with contaminated oil. Whether this really matters or not is a subject of great debate. But, since an oil change in the fall is about the same price as an oil change in the spring, the safe bet is to replace now before storage.

JFP in PA 09-11-2014 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bald Eagle (Post 417909)
I'm new to Boxster ownership. Bought a beautiful, very lightly used, and very well maintained 2000S with just 10,800 miles. Have all maintenance records. Previous owner changed oil every spring. I will be storing the car in late November when I will have put about 4000 miles on it since the spring oil change. Should I change the oil before putting it into storage or when I take it out in early April or does it make any difference?

Larry (The Bald Eagle)

Yes. Used oil will contain moisture, some fuel, and other by products of combustion that can react and form acids. Acids left to sit in the engine are not a good thing. Change the oil before you put the car away for the winter.

Bald Eagle 09-11-2014 12:08 PM