986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   clay bar (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5227)

fab 02-27-2006 11:52 AM

clay bar

I was wondering where should I purchase and what kind of clay bar should I use on my car? I've never done this before and any suggestions/tips/feedback is greatly appreciated.

Fab
00 Boxster Blk/Blk tip

Perfectlap 02-27-2006 12:22 PM

Over the counter Pepboys and those auto shops have Clay Magic and Mother's and Meguiar's. Not cheap they force you go buy a whole bottle of quick detailer to use as lubricant.
Go to autopia-carecare.com for how to and to buy their Sonus brand of clay.
Zaino also sells a good clay without having to buy the quick detailer.

BadBoyS 02-27-2006 05:20 PM

I used Meguiars clay system cost 15.00 last weekend on the porsche did a really nice job and very easy to use pulled alot of crap out of the paint. This past weekend I used it on the Camaro WOW what a difference. Just Remember don't drop it... O got it from autozone

:cheers:

Used the Meguiars NXT and the MicroFiber Towel as recommended on a thread here and was really happy with that out come too..

:dance:

MNBoxster 02-27-2006 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fab
I was wondering where should I purchase and what kind of clay bar should I use on my car? I've never done this before and any suggestions/tips/feedback is greatly appreciated.

Fab
00 Boxster Blk/Blk tip

Hi,

Even pressure, not too hard and LOTS of lubricant (soapy water works great or water with a little Glycerin). Start at the Top and work your way down to avoid picking up anything which may scratch.

I tear the Clay into two pieces. I use one piece for the Top half of the Car, say to the Cut Line or Mid-Door, and the other for the Bottom parts, safe over sorry approach...