Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2014, 05:02 AM   #1

986 Steering Wheel Tilt

Ok so my girlfriend just got her 99 Boxster, with only 31k on it. I swear this is the best looking 99 car I have seen. Anywho, I was wondering what people where doing with these cars as far as retrofitting other Porsche columns to fit the 986s. I know in the Bimmer world we have options. Seeing as I am new to the game I decided to sign up here first and ask the vets. I am quite aware of how involved these change-overs can be, not new to it. The steering wheel is hitting her legs and mine as well. Not very comfy, all we get is telescoping adjustment. I though I might have saw something about a 911 column fitting but I could be mistaken. Anyways, any help would be much appreciated, thanks.

JonTheGreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 05:49 AM   #2

You are correct that the only steering wheel adjustment is telescoping. However, I assume you also know that there is a vertical adjustment for the seat so that you can lower it if the steering wheel is hitting your legs.
Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:58 AM   #3

Well the thing is she is really short and has to have the seat up all the way. She is only about 5'3". This is her car and not mine.
Old 01-06-2014, 07:53 AM   #4
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
I have never heard of a retrofit for the steering column to add a vertical adjustment, it would probably be complicated and expensive if it was possible. If her knees are hitting, I would image the issue is her torso is too low in the seat, not that the seat does not go up high enough. Do you have electric or manual seats?