Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2005, 08:09 AM   #1

considering 2005 boxster, need advice

Hello everyone,

It is my first time here and would like your input.

I had the most amazing experience last week when I test drove a base Boxster. The grin was from ear to ear and now I know all the raves you hear about Porsche are true.

However, I have always owned Japanese cars and this car will be my daily commuter so I have concerns about its practicality.

How many of you commute with it and do you find the noise too much? I liked the driving experience during the test drive, but not sure if I can live with it daily once the novelty wears off. I commute about 40mi/day.

What about maintenance costs? Tire costs? The salesman said oil change at 20000mile or 2 years, cost about $200. What about the other interval service costs?

Are "blown engine" problems that common?

I would get the heated seats, wind deflector, xenons, 18in rims. It sounds like they are discounting because of the year end. What kind of deals have people been getting?

My other option would be a CPO M3 convertible that's more civilized, although sedate to drive compared to the Boxster.

Thank you in advance for your input.

coiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 08:22 AM   #2
bmussatti

Coiguy,

Welcome to the forum. You will be getting some great advice from other members, I am sure, in the next several hours.

The information that I can give you is regarding pricing. You should be able to get at a mimimum 10% off of a 2005, including delivery. With a little work and good negitiation skills you can get another 1-3% off. Just play it right.

Good luck...and go Boxster!
Old 10-06-2005, 08:28 AM   #3