986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   New member hi - and a question (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28118)

jjbodean 03-13-2011 05:14 PM

New member hi - and a question

hi to all! i am looking to buy my first porsche and wanted to drop in and say "hi" first of all, as well as asking a question - i'm a serious porsche noob.

given the price as equal, would you buy a 2006 boxster with 28k miles, or a 2007 with 42k miles? equipment and packages are virtually the same. base cars, no nav, auto with tiptronic, no paintwork, good service histories and clean carfax.

thoughts?

TIA!

husker boxster 03-13-2011 07:40 PM

The 07 has 5 more HP, but that's not a big deal. If everything else is even, why not take the 14k free miles?

Which one do you like?

jjbodean 03-13-2011 07:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by husker boxster
The 07 has 5 more HP, but that's not a big deal. If everything else is even, why not take the 14k free miles?

Which one do you like?

i'd be fine with either one, really, but the year vs the miles presents the quandry...

WhipE350 03-13-2011 07:53 PM

Welcome! Always good to have new folks on the forum. So few questions:

- First Porsche?
- Which one do you like the most?
- Is there any warranty on either
- Do you like doing your own maintenance?
- Daily driver or occasional?

PhilNotHill 03-13-2011 08:13 PM

All things being equal I would the the one with lesser miles.

Good luck and may the horse be with you!

jjbodean 03-14-2011 10:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhipE350
Welcome! Always good to have new folks on the forum. So few questions:

- First Porsche?
- Which one do you like the most?
- Is there any warranty on either
- Do you like doing your own maintenance?
- Daily driver or occasional?

yes, 1st porsche