Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2011, 04:26 AM   #1

any points to consider:replacing rear and front struts 1999 boxster???

Hello everyone this is my first time posting. My husband and i are new to porsche ownership and being on a somewhat budget and wanting to be porsche owners we had to go with a used one. The problem was that we were not aware of the mechanical issues our boxster would come with. We really enjoy the car but are finding really expensive for the repairs. My husband has worked on cars he use to do mechanic work on the side but only imports occasionally. So my questions are the following. We need to replace the struts in the rear especially right now and then the front next after that. I read thru the posts on the forum and tried to pick out points to consider to crarefully do the job ourselves. Example what specific tools we will need to buy? What are some common problems encountered when you actually get in there and what things are we looking for that could be other linked potential causes of suspension weirdness when diving it. As for the rear we can actually feel a jerk upon acceleration when taking off fast. We initially took the car to indy shop here in alexandria virginia and the costs were so high we had just gotten the motor mounts replaced which was a pretty penny. They gave us a list of other priority repairs and rear struts was a must. For both front and rear came to about 3500. Anyways back to my questions so as for the front struts do we need to consider the steering system when removing and replacing? ? Any other advice would be helpful?? Also we were going to order the struts are there any suggestions on types? I read heavy verses sport? what does this mean????? Also we arent looking to race or fancyness just standard parts right now to get the job done anything is better than whats o