986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Aftermarket subwoofers behind the seats? (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2510)

socratic 04-16-2005 04:11 PM

Aftermarket subwoofers behind the seats?

Has anyone tried putting in a 12-in subwoofer behind the passenger's seat?

Something thin like this one from Pioneer that is less than 4-inches thick?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/article/0,,2076_3123_104401920,00.html

Brucelee 04-16-2005 06:18 PM

I think you should be the first!!!!!!!!!!!

:cheers:

socratic 04-16-2005 06:35 PM

I would but I'm relatively new to Boxster ownership. Isn't the engine access via a panel behind the seats?

I was thinking of putting the sub very low down facing forward. I suspect I would have to build a custom box that's not too deep.

What is behind the wall at the base of the passenger seat? Could I even make things shallower and cut out a hole there and let the magnet sit in the area behind the wall? Or is that the actual engine compartment?

MLegere 04-16-2005 10:33 PM

Stick you sub in the right passanger footwell; near the door face it up towards the drive's seat you will enjoy it better.

socratic 04-18-2005 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MLegere
Stick you sub in the right passanger footwell; near the door face it up towards the drive's seat you will enjoy it better.

Yes, but subs are omni directional so I think they can be anywhere. Most people don't need their seat pushed all the way back and so if they can do with say 5 less inches, then the space already there plus the 4 inches needed by the Pioneer should be good; and this won't interfere with front passenger foot room.