Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2010, 11:23 AM   #1

Garage
Talking Anyone in New Jersey?

Hey guys!

Newbie here. Well newbie in the Boxster world but not in the Porsche one so I know what it means owning one of these beasts.

I am asking about NJ for one reason. I found a nice Boxster S, 2001, with 47k on it and it seems the vehicle is in good shape. All the questions I asked were promptly answered and everything seems to be there from spare keys to papers/books/etc and the car was just serviced (the dealer is a VW dealer by the way and got the car on a trade). No leaks anywhere and the dealer is offering a 3 month/3,000 mile warranty to make me feel better.
Price is $17,500 after I hassled them.

Anyone in NJ willing to take a look at the car at my expense and report back?
I have a deposit on it and if I do not like what I see when I go to close the deal they simply refund me the money, so nothing to lose.

Any comments about the price? And again, any fellow Boxster owners in NJ willing to help a poor soul in Canada?

Cheers guys!

CR

crod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 12:56 PM   #2

you can go lower
dallison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 01:27 PM   #3

I paid $140 for a diagnostic from Ray Catena in Edison,NJ. Its the top dealer here in NJ. You should offer to pay the seller to take it there for an inspection and have him send you the print out. Important to check is the clutch, suspension, brake wear, etc. I'm assuming the car is close to central NJ however.
I had the car towed to another Porsche dealer in Parsipanny I think, Paul Miller Porsche, for some work. I was too busy to drive it in. Unfortunately that's still the case these days!