986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Car Cover Recommendations (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2115)

Hlee8 02-20-2005 07:19 PM

Car Cover Recommendations

Newbie here. Need some help here.

1) Been planning on getting a car cover for my boxster but there are so many on ebay do not know which to even get. Anyone can recommend?

2) there are 2 schools of thought one says to cover and the other says better to keep it uncovered as the cover whilst on scratches the car. What gives? Anybody can help?

I dont know if Im stingy or what but the local porsche dealer here (not the US) sells a 'original' cover for the boxster but it set me back US$400 and the darn thing isnt even water proof. just wanted to share.

donv 02-20-2005 07:55 PM

If you're planning for storing the car in a garage, a soft cotton flannel cover (essentially just dust/scratch protection) is a safe bet and one of your least expensive options. For rain exposure, etc. there are other options including the "Noah" fabric, etc. I have a Noah cover which I use very frequently and have noticed no scratching. For the most part, it would be more the dirt you may get trapped under the cover rather than the fabric it is made of that would contribute to scratching. To that end, a cover that is machine washable (like the cotton flannel) would be the most convenient.

Brucelee 02-21-2005 05:51 AM

Inside use or out. Makes a big difference?

Porschekid 02-21-2005 06:09 AM

Mine is gonna be outside in the Winter and I just ordered an OEM Porsche Silverguard cover with cable and lock from ebay for $140. Seems like the best one available. :confused:

Hlee8 02-21-2005 09:54 PM