Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008, 09:35 AM   #1

Factory Stereo/Amp/Speaker question - rear speakers

my car is a 2000 base.

it came with a "hifi" stereo option, but did NOT come with rear speakers. the prior owner added a rear speaker kit, but I don't think it was the porsche kit - it looks like a custom job.

My car appears to have speakers up on top of the dash and in the doors. I have the factory CDR-220 head unit. There is what appears to be an amplifier in the front trunk up against the firewall just behind the spare tire.

when I turn up the volume on the stereo - I feel like the sound quality is great. it goes plenty loud for my needs. sound quality if great too. I really don't have any complaints.

i do, however, notice that I never really can tell that the rear speakers are even there. I started playing with the fader/balance controls and have shut off the front speakers and run the car SOLELY throught eh rear speakers.

the sound volume coming out of these rear speakers must be 1/4 of what comes from the fronts. it sounds like they are not getting much power. is this a sign of blown speakers? even if I flip the seats forward, so there is absolutely nothing obstructing the sound - they don't sound very loud at all. if I turn up the strereo volume as far as I can - it gets louder - but the sound quality is not that good. it almost sounds like the sound is muffled....

I do NOT know how these cars were wired from teh factory - but I do know that my front speakers are all "tied' together. in that the door speakers and the dash speakers fade/balance together - so they are all coming from the same source. if I fade to front left - both the front left door AND dash speaker play. I can't isolate them.