986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Help! Mercedes Technician needs Porsche Guidance! (http://986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16223)

mbzex.com 04-08-2008 09:41 AM

Help! Mercedes Technician needs Porsche Guidance!

Hello all,

I am a Mercedes technician who is attempting to repair my sister's '97 Boxster. The convertible top motor on the left side is rotating and raising the left side of the top, however, the right side motor is not moving at all, causing the top to twist. A few questions......

Do these motors typically fail? Is there a seperate relay for each side motor?
Also, to replace the motor if that is the failure, do any of the interior panels have to come off to remove and replace it?

I appreciate any help! And if any of you may have Mercedes questions, please feel free to ask!

Thank you,

Tony

EE3racing 04-08-2008 09:48 AM

Not sure on the relays but there is a small wire cable that operated each side, the older units had plastic ends that break off, it could be that both motors are fine and you have a broken actuator cable. If that is the case, there is a procedure you will have to follow to reset the timing cycle correctly. Try the search feature, I think I have seen instructions and pics in here before, good luck.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbzex.com
Hello all,

I am a Mercedes technician who is attempting to repair my sister's '97 Boxster. The convertible top motor on the left side is rotating and raising the left side of the top, however, the right side motor is not moving at all, causing the top to twist. A few questions......

Do these motors typically fail? Is there a seperate relay for each side motor?