Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2007, 05:05 PM   #1

RPM Question

I have a 99 Box with Tiptronic (I know, wife required the auto). Anyway, redline is 6600 and was wondering what is considered pushing it a bit too hard? It seems like it's really winding out by 4,500-5,000. Can I safely run the lower gears up to 5,500-6,000 without worrying about something blowing up? Does it make a difference if it's in auto or "manual" mode? I want to drive it a bit harder, but first wanted opinions since I'm fairly new to the Boxster. Thanks in advance for not shooting the Tiptronic guy!

PhxRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 05:22 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to blinkwatt
The 2.5L is best from 4-6k(from what I remember).

Are you behind on maintenance? When's the last time you changed the oil,air filter + spark plugs?

You should be able to drive it up to redline without worrying about anything,although I wouldn't recommend that. Just ride her when you feel like it,you didn't buy a Porsche only to drive it like a Camry.

Perhaps uklekraker can chime in,he's pretty darn fast with 2.5L tiptronic from what I hear. He could tell you what's best for the tiptronic set up.
Old 11-07-2007, 05:33 PM   #3
blkboxster

I redline alot!!!!! i mean alot, and have no problems with my 2.5. the 2.5 is only good at 4000 rpm and beyond i dont think it would make a diffrence but i have a 5spd

Last edited by blkboxster; 11-07-2007 at 05:37 PM.
Old 11-07-2007, 05:41 PM   #4

I would like to know how you can get into the rev limiter with a tiptronic transmission.
Tool Pants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 06:09 PM   #5
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
I think the tip. shows RPM, but you can also get other readings like the RPM through the AC's secret controls.
Old 11-07-2007, 06:25 PM   #6

Quote: