Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2007, 03:42 AM   #1

Looking to buy a boxster, 21 years old need some help

ok so i'm young and naive and i feel like if i go to the porsche dealership they'll feed me some BS so i come to you folks.

First off, in case any of you are wondering about why a 21 year old is buying a porsche, i have kind of an interesting life story. If you're not interested, just go to the next paragraph. Well, i'm a professional poker player. I bought my first car when i was 20, a 1997 Mercedes e320 similar to . I love it. Its classy, luxurious, it drives like an old mans car... which when i bought it, was actually a good thing. It was smooth, roomy, powerful, relaxing. Well it was fun while it lasted, and i test drove a boxster and my god, talk about the complete opposite. That thing is quick, scary, and FUN. The only problem is:

I HATE the bloody look of it. It really does look like a vw beetle but screw it. I don't care. The boxster is a nice enough car that on a nice sunday afternoon, i might burn a few hours just going for a drive.

Now. Price isn't really a huge issue but i'm just trying to ballpark what i should be expecting so i don't get ripped off at any dealers. I WILL be getting the boxster, not the S version. I drove the boxster and since i'm young, i'm pretty sure i would end up killing myself if i had anything faster. Since i have no school and technically no job, i won't be using it to commute or anything, so it won't get high miles. Therefore i don't mind getting one with higher than average miles, as long as it runs ok. I'll probably be driving it LESS than 3000 miles a year.

So i was thinking a late 90's model, for around $17,000. Now, once again, i hate the look of it. So, I think i will be (gasp) adding a body kit to it.

This body kit here - $925