Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2007, 04:21 PM   #1

Angry Curbed new tire. Need to replace?

This evening I misjudged the entrance to a parking garage and clipped the rear wheel -- hard! When the four letter words finally subsided I found that the wheel is scratched and tire raised rib is cut. Both the tires and wheels are only a few weeks old!

Based on these photos, do I need to replace the tire? The cut is to the raised rim protector but it does not go deeper. I'd rather not buy a new tire unless there is a safety issue. The tires are Bridgestone Potenza RE050A.

Old 09-10-2007, 05:04 PM   #2

I'm by no means a tire expert but in this case I would suggest pumping the pressure up to 50 psi and make sure there isn't any bubbling. I believe the sidewall of the tire is primarily to hold the shape with the rubber sealing it. As long as you didn't damage the interior makings of the sidewall then I think you would be fine if it holds air.

Obviously if you have a choice a new tire would be peace of mind.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 05:13 PM   #3

Bro, that really sucks (in case you didn't know). Was this after coming home from the problem free 700 mile trip? Not the ideal way to end it.

It's a sign, sell the car and move to Finland. No, that's blasphemy!
2000 Porsche Boxster | SOLD | http://www.986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9114

http://www.kryzak.com/storage/986sig12.jpg

http://kryzak.tumblr.com
Jeph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 06:18 PM   #4

I drove the 868 Boxstoberfest miles without any problem. It was the monday night drive home from work that got me. I left early too, meaning this would not have happened if I had been a good little worker and stayed past 6:00.

And don't worry, if I move back to Finland a new Boxster will be pretty high on my shopping list