Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2007, 03:34 PM   #1

Oil Change Emergency-pls Help!!

OK, let me preface this by saying that I have been changing my own oil for over 25 years, and have never, ever experienced any type of leak after changing the oil.

BUT, this is my first on our Box.

Followed the very easy Schilling instructions. I put the new gasket onto the oil filter casing, slid it past the threads, all the way down to the collar where it stops.

I screw it on, down to 24Nm. problem is that about halfway through the tightening with the torque wrench, I can see the gasket squeezing out from where the filter case is making contact with the engine block.

24Nm is not very tight, and i was fully expecting the gasket to compress, but it's like it's pushing it's way out all the way around, but yet, it was very snug when I slid it on to the casing to start with.

needless to say, I have a leak from the filter cup after starting the car.

I have more gaskets, but before trying this again, i was hoping someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Slight rant::::why can't the German's just use an oil filter like the rest of the world with a hard rubber gasket built right in?

thanks!

2002 Toyota Tundra 4x4-daily driver

Last edited by S_PILOT; 09-07-2007 at 03:36 PM.
S_PILOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 04:01 PM   #2
Pat

Did you lube the gasket with oil first?
Old 09-07-2007, 04:03 PM   #3

Hi,

yes, I did, and now of course, there is plenty of oil on the gasket from the leaking
Old 09-07-2007, 04:57 PM   #4

so I tried again,

new gasket, lubed it, slid it down on the collar past the threads to where it bottoms out on the flange. made sure the gasket was laying snug on the collar and not trying to roll up onto the threads.