Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Show and Tell Gallery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2016, 04:47 AM   #1

Garage
Anti-Corrosion Warranty

Hi
Just thought i would share some info with you all

After contacting Porsche Silverstone about my 2005 Boxster S and providing pictures -attached - the "repairer" elite-motors.co.uk based in Northampton told me Porsche wouldn't cover it under warranty.
Reason
The rust is not from the inside out??

Therefore my take is you need to ensure you fill your car internally with water/when you fancy using the toilet whilst driving...:troll: and let it seep out and rust it before Porsche will accept your claim

Z4oldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 06:21 AM   #2

what is the stated warranty?

From your picture it looks like surface corrosion, which likely has a different warranty coverage than perforation. I worked in the industry for years and the company I was with had a 3-year surface corrosion warranty and a 5-year perforation, or rust-through warranty. Panels that rust through generally do so from inside out. Surface corrosion can rust through of course too, but since it's visible it should be repaired before it gets that bad. That's kind of up to you if it's past the manufacturer's surface corrosion warranty. Your car is 10 years old now, but I don't know what Porsche's surface corrosion warranty was. Not likely 10 years. I'd say on a 10-year old car you're asking a lot for any manufacturer to take responsibility.
Old 09-27-2016, 07:23 AM   #3

Garage
Anti-corrosion - Good explanation

Thanks for the elaboration.
I bet the next thing manufacturers will do it give separate for roof to side panels - rain hits the roof 1st LOL
Old 09-27-2016, 10:47 PM   #4