Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2020, 05:38 AM   #1

No power to anything please help

I’ll start by saying I am not too technical. I have a 2003 Boxster S. Didn’t drive for about 3 weeks battery dead. Tried powering to red fuse no luck. Used a 12v, 6 amp battery charger in cigarette lighter. Charger indicated it was charging for about 6 hours now it says it is in “maintaining mode” meaning the trickle charge.

When I turn the key I get nothing. No alarm, do dash lights, no trunk opening. About 30 min into the initial charging I turned the key and the dash lights came on for about 5 seconds. Could I have blown a fuse?

Thanks in advance.

Stuttgart70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 02:52 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuttgart70 View Post
I’ll start by saying I am not too technical. I have a 2003 Boxster S. Didn’t drive for about 3 weeks battery dead. Tried powering to red fuse no luck. Used a 12v, 6 amp battery charger in cigarette lighter. Charger indicated it was charging for about 6 hours now it says it is in “maintaining mode” meaning the trickle charge.

When I turn the key I get nothing. No alarm, do dash lights, no trunk opening. About 30 min into the initial charging I turned the key and the dash lights came on for about 5 seconds. Could I have blown a fuse?

Thanks in advance.
1.Check that your battery cable connections are clean and tight.
2. Check that the Negative battery connection at the frame is clean and tight.
3. There is a small junction box near your power steering reservoir that has a main ground connection in it. That connection has been known to come loose and cause a no power problem. Check that it is clean and tight.

Those are the first three things I would start with.
blue62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 03:12 PM   #3