986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Performance and Technical Chat (http://986forum.com/forums/performance-technical-chat/)
-   -   changing the battery on 2000 s (http://986forum.com/forums/performance-technical-chat/33627-changing-battery-2000-s.html)

Jim M. 02-01-2012 10:12 AM

changing the battery on 2000 s

What is the procedure for changing the battery on my boxster. I'm new to the car. Never had to deal with reseting the computer. Would appreciate any help.

Johnny Danger 02-01-2012 12:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim M. (Post 276616)
What is the procedure for changing the battery on my boxster. I'm new to the car. Never had to deal with reseting the computer. Would appreciate any help.

Take the old one out, and put the new one in . The DME will be unaltered by this .

Steve Tinker 02-01-2012 02:13 PM

Negative (-) cable off first, then the positive (+) cable.
(+) on first, then (-) on installation of new battery.
Just make sure you have your radio code before you disconnect the battery......

san rensho 02-01-2012 02:40 PM

Take out the battery tray and clean all around it with a weak baking soda solution and flush liberally with water. If the tray is rusted, sand it it, prime it and paint with rustoleum. Spray the tray and everything underneath it liberally with wd40.

While you're in there, clean out the body drains.

Jim M. 02-02-2012 05:57 AM

Thanks for the help.

Idaho Red Rocket 3 02-02-2012 05:41 PM

How do you get the radio code ?

wvboxst3r 02-02-2012 05:50 PM

you need radio serial number and vin number then hope your dealer is nice and will give you code at no charge. Call around they will do it. My local and next two wanted 50 bucks. Found a dealer near beach house that did it for free.

Meir 02-02-2012 10:47 PM

Or just try this.
Lost Radio Code - post your request here - RennTech.org Forums