Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2010, 08:21 PM   #1
dti

Hello people, Im a noob, I just bought a 98 Porsche Boxster but have problems : (

Ok so I bought this car off my aunt. This car has been sitting unused for over 3 years due to a problem she ran into. After conducting research on the car I found that this problem is quite common among this model and engine.

I have found oil ( lots of it ) in the water cooling reservoirs and system. The car starts off like a dream and I have not done a diagnostic with a mechanic, I also do not drive it since I am hoping to cause less of a problem for the engine. Although I am new to Porsches I am not new to engine modding and or repair. the car has 128,000 miles.
If anyone can point me to the right direction that would be fantastic. I will take pics of it and start posting on my process in fixing this vehicle. If it requires dropping the engine, I have a bud that knows a little so we will be doing the dropping and installing ourselves. I have also found a machine shop by here in L.A. that is ready to take the job. But if any one can help me with this topic I will greatly appreciate it. thanks!

dti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:49 PM   #2

well you have come to the right place i feel, check out the search engine on the site as probably every fault with a 986 has happened to SOMEONE on here, i bet you anything you'll have it running in no time and quite a few dollars left in your wallet than if you were to take it to a porsche dealer If it has been given to you cheap just blow whatever you would have spent on some tin box ricer on it!!!, you WON'T be disapointed
jonnycool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 09:21 PM   #3

Oil in the coolant is a SERIOUS problem!

Do NOT run the car!