Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2009, 05:51 PM   #1

Help! Car wont start after checking fuses & radio

i'm a newbie here and newbie owner of '02 Boxter S. I bought this used 3 weeks. only had 54k miles (i know...that's why i did my own carfax. 1 owner car w/54kmiles).

Anyhow everything was great until today. The only problem is the radio and dash backlight never worked from my day 1. I been going thru a number of your great threads here to try to fix the problem.

I went through and checked the fuses to make sure all were good. And they were. In between i must of started and turned off the car 4-5 times just to test.

Problem: the last time i tried starting the car it turned a couple of times then died. Next time i tried starting-nothing! No turns or clicks. Yet I still have power to lights, convertible top, windows, etc. Can it still be the battery? What to do??? Help!

Last edited by eurotic spaniard; 10-12-2009 at 05:57 PM. Reason: edited title
eurotic spaniard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:20 PM   #2

First off , Welcome and congrats. Don't let this minor setback get you down as once you catch up on some minor maintenace you rarely see problems.

I would guess it's the dreaded ignition switch. Especially if you have any trouble taking your key out or if it doesn't automatically turn back to the run position. Good news is, its an easy fix and only cost around $35. You can easily, ok moderately do it yourself. Go to the DIY thread on here and look for the ignition switch replace thread. I did it and found some sort cuts. Takes about 15 minutes and it really takes no technical expertise.
http://www.987forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21844