Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2009, 12:02 AM   #1

AfterMarket Stereo.

Has anyone out there done an Aftermarket stereo upgrade to their Boxster? Just a stock standard cd player unit with iPod connectivity. Any professional installs? I went to a local stereo install shop, and got quoted close to $500 bucks. I don't want anything custom. I just want to use the stock Bose speakers, with a simple off the shelf single disc/iPod control head unit. $500+ seemed to much as Its only run a few hundred bucks for my SUV. (Jeep Cherokee) I have thought of going to a chain like Best Buy, but just don't trust them to tear into a Boxster, as I think they are more use to a Kids' Honda. Any input or experiences out there, pics? Should I just buy the gear myself and give it a shot? I'm a good mechanic but don't know too much about stereos.Thanks all....

-Victory 3
2000 Boxster S Arctic Silver

Last edited by victory3; 05-28-2009 at 12:04 AM.
victory3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 06:32 AM   #2

Smile

The way the stereo is intalled will make a big difference. You don't want it to look like crap... Get a few more quotes. You have the bose speakers, you are pretty well off. Just go with a place that will stand behind their work and you will have no worries. Installing a new deck can be a big pain. A lot of wires and you don't want to mess up the wrong one. YOu could fry the entire system. 500.00 for a good radio with install isn't to bad. Look on the bright side, if Best buy were to screw anything up, they are forced to replace anything that is damaged.

Good luck.

P.S. Where are you Located?
BoxsterS21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 06:42 AM   #3