986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Performance and Technical Chat (http://986forum.com/forums/performance-technical-chat/)
-   -   Help me soup up my boxster (http://986forum.com/forums/performance-technical-chat/19627-help-me-soup-up-my-boxster.html)

Boxster_luver 02-15-2009 06:43 PM

Help me soup up my boxster

HEy guys, I have a 98 2.5l boxster. Im new to all cars(was never a gearhead until my first porsche 944). So I know very little about anything. Im hoping some one has some good ideas or projects I can do to my boxster to increase performance.
I was already thinking about a new exaust system, new headers, new cat conveter, cold air system, and maybe a power chip. I want to make my car around 10-11 second 1/4 mile. So please help me out. Also im wondering, what can the 986 share with the996?

Michael

kabel 02-15-2009 07:16 PM

Michael

Welcome to the forum. We are here to help you get aquatinted with your new to you Boxster. My first recommendation for anyone just joining a forum, is to take some time and poke around the forum, you will discover many discussions and answers to your question(s) already exist.

+ The general consensus is our boxsters are producing near their maximum power and the additional gains are minimal compared to the cost (short of dropping in a newer, larger engine). :cool:

bkiersz 02-15-2009 07:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boxster_luver
HEy guys, I have a 98 2.5l boxster. Im new to all cars(was never a gearhead until my first porsche 944). So I know very little about anything. Im hoping some one has some good ideas or projects I can do to my boxster to increase performance.