986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Performance and Technical Chat (http://986forum.com/forums/performance-technical-chat/)
-   -   Adding Headers - Legal???? (http://986forum.com/forums/performance-technical-chat/17629-adding-headers-legal.html)

tjgalati 07-21-2008 04:57 PM

Adding Headers - Legal????

Im new to modding the engine/exhaust/intake. I live in CA and use my box as a weekend ride and autoX beast.

Im thinking of adding some headers/deleting some cats etc.... However, what will this do to my street legal status? Will i still be able to pass a smog check?

Thoughts on best bang (HP) for buck regarding brands and applications would be nice as well.

Thx

TJ Galati

fragdude 07-21-2008 05:54 PM

I think in CA they do both a "sniffer" test and visual inspection, depending on where you get your inspection done. Most companies will tell you if their product will pass the sniffer test, however if you go to an inspection station that is strict about the visual inspection part (even though its a bit harder sometimes on a boxster), you wont pass with anything but the muffler modified. It all depends on the station you go to. Some don't care, some will pass you if you pay them a bit extra.

Hope this helps :cheers:

Kirk 07-21-2008 08:10 PM

Is it legal? No, it's not legal to delete cats in any state. I think the question that you're really looking to answer is whether or not you'll get caught! As fragdude explained that depends on where you take your car and whether or not they do a visual check along with the tail pipe check. I've had three smog inspections since I moved to Cali and not once did they do a visual on my Boxster or SUV.

Tool Pants 07-22-2008 07:31 AM

I have a 1997 that has had 5 inspections. First when it was sold in 1999 when I bought it, and 4 inspections after that.