Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2007, 02:28 PM   #1

K&N help please

Hey whats up. Im new to the fourm, but ive been readin a lot and this is a geeat fourm. I am the new proud owner of a 99 986, ocean blue. Pretty much stock so far. My question, on sunday i installed a k&n air filter( before i read what they can do to my sensors) the next day i went to drive it, and the car was bucking and loosing power. Im thinking that the filter is oiled too much and i plan to take it out and go oem. Anyone have this problem, or have and ideas? thanks

danrhinofightteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 02:31 PM   #2

Send a message via MSN to CJ_Boxster
COuld be too much oil, goto PepBoys and buy CRC Mass Airflow Sensor cleaner and clean any oil or dirt off your MAF, reinstal the stock filter and see if the problem comes back. If you really want the KN installed, wash the oil out of it and install it w/o oil but if you do this it will filter less.

Carlos J Cazares

FastForward Performance
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...er/newsig1.jpg
CJ_Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 02:38 PM   #3

Are you sure it was installed correctly? Make sure you did not put the new filter back in backwards. It has to be facing a certain way. I would also check your hose to the M.A.S. and make sure it did not come loose.
porsche986spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 02:38 PM   #4

Ok ill do that. The MAF is at the bottom of the air box right?
Old 06-27-2007, 02:46 PM   #5

The MAF is on the intake hose near the air filter box.

Carlos J Cazares

FastForward Performance
Old 06-27-2007, 02:48 PM   #6

i think i got it. Thaks alot
Old 06-27-2007, 03:59 PM   #7
blkboxster

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrhinofightteam
i think i got it. Thaks alot