986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   New Member Introductions (http://986forum.com/forums/new-member-introductions/)
-   -   2001 S Purchase (http://986forum.com/forums/new-member-introductions/9150-2001-s-purchase.html)

larryshomework 01-23-2007 08:41 PM

2001 S Purchase

Hello all, newbie here and hopefully a near future Boxster owner.

I'm currently looking at a 2001 Boxster S (black/brown). I don't know which option packages it has at this point.

It does have PSM, 17inch wheels, and seats are not power (power recline only) and 50,000 miles.

The car is from local Porsche dealer and is certified (with warranty).

The asking price is $25,900 (preliminary 'courtesy' discount of $500 offered to bring this to $25,400).

Any thoughts on the reasonableness of this price? Seems pretty good to me.

How much is the Porsche Certified Warranty worth?

Thanks in advance.

Adam 01-23-2007 09:38 PM

It sounds like a pretty good deal to me, but you may want to have another place inspect the car(PPI) just to be sure. It will cost you a couple hundred but it would be a good idea if you have any doubts and it will give you peace of mind. There are many that say never buy a used Porsche unless it is inspected by an idependent source. Even Porsche dealerships hide some things they might not want potential buyers to know about. :(

z12358 01-24-2007 03:43 AM

Is that a PCNA warranty (valid at any dealer) or a warranty issued by that particular shop? I thought Porsche only extends the original 4yrs warranty by 2yrs, for a total of 6. For a 2001 car that would make 2007 the last year a car can be under a Porsche warranty.

If the car is in good shape and if you get a full 2yr PCNA warranty, the price is not bad.

larryshomework 01-24-2007 07:54 AM

Thanks for the feedback.