Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2019, 05:57 PM   #1

Hello from florida

Thanks to the faq's , I'm not sure I want to play with boxsters . I'm looking at what looks like a a nice one , but ...... Below is an link to it . Opinions please .
I'm an old shadetree mechanic . Had a lot of fun with chevys and am about tired of miatas . Thanks for any info .
https://pensacola.craigslist.org/cto/d/pensacola-porsche-boxster-986/6985139429.html

Toolinalong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 12:18 PM   #2

Garage
Looks decent and in good condition; price seems fair based on condition and service done. The IMS isn't done, however, I would not worry much about that. Next is to test drive, work the top, does it drive straight, any conspicuous noise rattles, etc.
Old 09-25-2019, 12:40 PM   #3

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciao View Post
Looks decent and in good condition; price seems fair based on condition and service done. The IMS isn't done, however, I would not worry much about that. Next is to test drive, work the top, does it drive straight, any conspicuous noise rattles, etc.
Price is unbelievable unless there is some major issue with it. You may never have a chance to get into a Boxster this cheap again.
Old 09-25-2019, 02:09 PM   #4

Thank you

Please forgive me but what is ims ? This is kind of how I started with miatas back in 06 . Asking questions until I learned the forum and proceeded to learn the car . It being an 98 is there a risk of early engine failure like I read in the faq s ?
I don't baby my cars . Is the boxster up to seeing 7 k rpm shifts a dozen or so times a day like my miatas ? Thanks for any info and yall putting up with a newbie with a lot to learn.
PS the price is a red flag to me . It well below NADA ......
Old 09-25-2019, 02:38 PM   #5

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolinalong View Post