986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   New Member Introductions (http://986forum.com/forums/new-member-introductions/)
-   -   Warranty help?? (http://986forum.com/forums/new-member-introductions/6937-warranty-help.html)

Rick Hartley 08-01-2006 11:44 AM

Warranty help??

I just bought an '02 Boxster with 14000 miles - mint condition by all appearances. I bought it from a dealer & wound up with the extended warranty but have 60 days to cancel. The warranty is the "Platinum" coverage from "Carefree Car Protection". Anyone with any experience with this warranty (and its exclusions). I can get a mechanic to look it over but figured I'd ask here first. Does this cover the infamous rear seal??? (I'm no mechanic and can't figure out all the mumbo jumbo)

The cost of the warranty for 4 years/48k from purchase was $1880.00.

Thanks for any thoughts. This is my first Porsche & I am completely in love - had a late night ride on a newly paved country road - unreal.

Rick

Brucelee 08-01-2006 12:14 PM

Suggest you call warranty company and ask them directly. Obtain written confirmation of any assurances they give you that are not contained in the actual warranty contract.

ultimate1 08-15-2006 08:33 PM

You should make certain that the warranty covers wear and tear and seals and gaskets. If you don't have that coverage then you will need a complete breakdown of a covered part or the warranty will not cover repairs. I looked at numerous plans before I settled with a coverage with API that included wear and tear and seals and gaskets for somthing like $2400 for a 3 year/36000 mile warranty. Just pm me if you want to talk to my warranty guy.

You will need seal and gasket coverage to protect you from any potential RMS problems.

I know I love my Zenith Blue 2000 below and I had to take care of her

Brucelee 08-16-2006 05:32 AM